#BookReview: The Little Library on Cherry Lane by Katie Ginger #BlogTour @HQStories

I’m thrilled to be back on the tour for another heartwarming, unputdownable book by the lovely Katie Ginger. Grab yourself some cake and a cuppa. All my library lovers and book nerds, you’re going fall in love.

Review:

This is my second book by Katie Ginger set in the beloved, heartwarming village of Meadowbank, and I absolutely adored being transported back to it to visit with friends I’m coming to know and love. Like Jacob Yardley, who arrives in Meadowbank to oversee an affordable housing development, it’s hard not get swept away by a place that soothes us, a place where neighbors may bicker at times with one another but in their hearts, the love of community and tranquility in a sleepy little corner of the world. I wanted to spend time in one of those thatch-roofed cottages almost instantly.

At the heart of this story are two wonderful people, Elsie and Jacob, who I fell in love with instantly. They are two people that have a lot of commonalities in finding the backbone they need to stand up for what they believe in, either to the people they want them to respect them, or just for themselves. Pitted against each other in the battle to either tear down or save the community’s center and soul, the library, you hope upon hope that Elsie, the heart and soul of the library will be able to save the place that she loves, and that perhaps Jacob will be able to muster courage to follow his heart in what he truly wants in his life. Whether that spells harmony, heartbreak, or compromise, you’ll have to read on your own.

I know a number of librarians personally and the challenges they face with cuts and closings is fierce. I really admire that Katie did this, because so many of our libraries are facing closure due to lack of funding. They are indeed the heart and soul in many of our small towns. A place where everyone feels welcome and gains access where home internet or other services aren’t provided. As a child of single mother, the library growing up was the place where we could get borrow books, movies, music, and sit for ours with our local children’s librian, Ms. Mattie. Those hours spent there fostered a love of books and gave me the chance to dream. When I think of the little library at Meadowbank, I think of the listening to tales from Ms. Mattie while drinking juice or punch in Dixie cups while eating little snack cakes. I wish I could have tasted Gemma and Orla’s creations because they made me hungry, but those little treats made me smile.

Five out of five stars and I’d give it more if I could.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.